Dr Zaina Al-Mohtaseb

About Zaina Al-Mohtaseb

Dr Zaina Al-Mohtaseb, M.D is an ophthalmologist specialising in cornea, external disease, cataract and refractive surgery. Dr Al-Mohtaseb earned her medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine, Texas, where she graduated with honours in 2009. She completed her ophthalmology residency at the Cullen Eye Institute at Baylor College of Medicine and was elected Chief Resident in her final year of training.  She then went on to finish her studies at one of the top programs in the nation and completed a fellowship in cornea/external disease, cataract and refractive surgery at the University of Miami’s Bascom Palmer Eye Institute. Dr. Al-Mohtaseb is currently in private practice at Whitsett Vision Group and is a clinical Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at Baylor College of Medicine. 

Excelling in three main aspects of her career: clinical/surgical, education and research, Dr Al-Mohtaseb‘s work focuses on the medical and surgical management of patients with cornea, cataract, and refractive issues. She has won a magnitude of prestigious awards such as, “Top Doctors” in Houston for the past four years, the BCM Women of Excellence award, the National Award Outstanding Leader in Ophthalmology, the National Rising Star in Ophthalmology Award, the national AAO Achievement Award and also features on the International Ophthalmology’s Power List Top 100 Ophthalmologists & Ophthalmology Management’s National Top 40 under 40 Award.

Dr Al-Mohtaseb has authored more than 52 peer reviewed scientific publications and book chapters and is an active reviewer for many leading ophthalmic journals, many of which have led to changes in treatment and improved patient care. She takes an active leadership role in national committees and has become a key opinion leader in ophthalmology, where she has presented nationally and internationally at nearly 160 presentations.

With a passion for education, Dr Al-Mohtaseb was the ophthalmology residency director at BCM and teaches and mentors medical students, residents, fellows and peers in a variety of settings. She is the Chair of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons Young Eye Surgeons committee, which serves to educate young surgeons nationally and internationally through lectures, webinars, and wet labs. She has won awards for her teaching including the Norton Rose Fulbright Faculty Excellence Award for Teaching and Evaluation and the Dan B Jones Resident Teaching Award.

Professional memberships

  • American Medical Association
  • Chief Medical Editor and Editorial Board Millennial Eye
  • Editorial Board for CRST and Executive Advisory Board Member
  • Editorial Board for Ocular Surgery News
  • Editorial Advisory Board for Ophthalmology Times
  • American Academy of Ophthalmology
  • American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery
  • Anterior Segment Society
  • Ophthalmic World Leaders
  • American University of Professional Ophthalmologists
  • Houston Ophthalmology Women
  • National Arab American Medical Association